Home > Uncategorized > Today’s Task

Today’s Task

Today’s Task – July 12, 2010

I am thinking about becoming a free-agent. I’ll have my agent put the word out and then we will meet with several interested parties, stringing them out as long as we can. I’ll talk with a couple of my friends and encourage them to sign along with me. While I will tell everyone my free-agency is driven by the desire to “win a championship,” my agent will negotiate a contract that is more lucrative than my existing one. Because everyone will be convinced of my possible impact to my new employer, my other sponsors will be willing to renegotiate my contract with them, resulting in a boat-load of money. I’ll make the announcement of my move on the final evening of free-agency, doing so at a boy’s and girl’s club away from my current place of employment. Yeah, they will take down my 10 story likeness and burn my jersey in my old place of employment but well…..it is ALL about me.

Wait, I can’t do this? I can’t become free-agent? People won’t pay $60.00 a ticket and stand in line to see me work? Sponsors won’t make a jersey with my name on it and give me an incredible amount of money for wearing their shoes? I can’t get a contract worth millions of dollar. But I thought working with our most important commodity, children, was an important job. I thought teaching was a time-honored career. You mean to tell me that putting a round ball through a metal hoop has greater value than molding the minds of young people? What a sad statement about the things we value in our country!

Today, no every day, I encourage you to consider the things you value in your life. Do you pay $60.00 for a ticket to watch someone shoot a ball through a hoop, and then give nothing to your church or the needy of your community? Do you proudly wear the jersey of your favorite athlete as you join your friends at the local bar for the game, and then overlook the importance of the PTA meeting at your children’s school? Don’t get me wrong, I love athletics! I enjoy going to games and wearing the jersey of my favorite player just as much as you. I worry, however, that we have our priorities out of order. Is it time to reconsider what is valuable in our lives? I think it is!!!!

Have a great day!

Mr R
http://www.todaynoeveryday.com

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************Disclaimer: Pursuant to Washington County Public Schools (WCPS) policy and administrative procedures, this e-mail system is to be used for official WCPS business only. All users are cautioned that messages sent and received through this system are subject to the Freedom of Information Act, and Maryland public disclosure laws, and may be reviewed at anytime by WCPS. There should be no expectation of privacy.
Please consider the cost and the environment before printing this email or any attachments.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment