Today’s Task – September 26, 2013

Okay, pay attention! My experience of my experience is my experience of my experience. Your experience of your experience is your experience of your experience. My experience of your experience will never be your experience of your experience and your experience of my experience will never be my experience of my experience. Phew! Did you get all of that?

Yesterday, a few of my students were talking about how lying in bed all day is more fun than being active. When I questioned the logic of their thinking, one young lady responded, “If you could live life through someone else, why wouldn’t you!” Her response has lingered in my mind ever since. I don’t want someone telling me how it feels to swim in a cool stream on a steamy summer’s day. I want to have the experience myself. I don’t want to know how you felt when the roller coaster twisted and turned upside down….I want to have the experience myself. Living vicariously isn’t living the experience; it is imagining it through someone else’s eyes. I must find a way to convince these young people that life is the experience. It is the scar on your leg from your first attempt at riding a two-wheeler, the pain in your heart from the break-up of your first love, and it is in the joy of watching the birth of your child. If I could live life through someone else, why wouldn’t I? Because that is not living!

Today, no every day, I encourage you to take advantage of life’s opportunities. Sure, it hurts when you wreck your two-wheeler, yet it is nothing like the joy and freedom you feel when you learn to ride it. And while the pain of breaking-up is real, it pales in comparison to the joy one feels when they find true and lasting love. Life was never meant to be observed, knowing only what others tell you of an experience. It was meant to be lived! So get up and get going, there is so much to experience!

Make Today a Magnificent Day!

Mr R
http://www.todaynoeveryday.com or on Facebook @ Today, No Every Day

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

